2022 Election Information

The Hays Trinity Groundwater Conservation District General Election for District Directors was to be held on Tuesday, November 8, 2022. All Single Member Districts were up for re-election due to 2022 Redistricting.

At close of day on the candidate filing deadline, August 22, 2022, all Districts had received exactly one application for candidacy. As all candidates were unopposed, the election for these positions has been cancelled.

The HTGCD Elections Officer is Keaton Hoelscher.

The map below shows the new boundaries for each district. Residents living within HTGCD can enter their address into the search bar to determine in which Single Member District they reside.

View larger map


  • District #1 – John Worrall
  • District #2 – James “Toby” Shelton
  • District #3 – Holly Fults
  • District #4 – Linda Kaye Rogers
  • District #5 – Doc Jones


District #1 – David Smith

David Smith is a consulting engineer with Walker Partners in Austin. He holds a B.A. degree in Environmental Science and Engineering and a M.S. degree in Environmental Engineering from Rice University. David is a licensed professional engineer in Texas and New Mexico. He has designed public and private development projects in central Texas including Baylor University’s McLane Stadium in Waco, the Brushy Creek Regional Utility Authority’s Phase 2 Raw Water Pump Station at Lake Travis, and Del Webb’s Sun City Georgetown. David is a native Texan and resides with his wife Peggy Murphy in Stagecoach Ranch. Pax4water@gmail.com

District #2 – Bruce Moulton

Bruce Moulton has lived in the Sunset Canyon Subdivision since 2004. He holds a BS degree in Biology, MS degree in Vertebrate Ecology, and pursued a Doctorate degree in Aquatic Biology.  He worked for the Texas Water Development Board from 1976 to 1986 and Texas Water Commission (now TCEQ) from 1986 to 2009.  His work focused on environmental issues associated with surface water development. From 1994 until his retirement in 2009, he served as a Senior Environmental Policy Advisor to the TCEQ Commissioners and Executive Management.  Following State retirement, he has worked as an independent environmental consultant. “I strongly believe water resource development and environmental protection are not mutually exclusive. With sound science and proper planning, management and development of this resource can take place when considering the health and welfare of the end users, while preserving the natural communities that depend on this most precious resource.” moulton2water@gmail.com

  • District #3 – Carlos Torres-Verdin
  • District #4 – Linda Kaye Rogers
  • District #5 – Doc Jones

Election Documents

Important Election Dates*

  1. July 23, 2022 – First day to file for candidacy
  2. August 22, 2022 – Last day to file for candidacy
  3. October 11, 2022 – Last day to register to vote
  4. October 24, 2022 – First day of early voting by personal appearance
  5. November 4, 2022 – Last day of early voting by personal appearance
  6. November 8, 2022 – General Election Date

* A complete election timeline can be found on the Texas Secretary of State’s website, linked here.

* More information on Hays County-administered elections can be found on their website here.